One Year Locversary

IMG_3071

๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

It’s been an interesting year, but we made it. My locs are officially one years old!!

How did you start your locs?

For those of you who don’t know, I started my locs with 27 two strand twists.ย A few months into having my locs I combed some out and braided them, then I interlocked them, and then tried to un- interlock them.

Why did you loc your hair?ย 

I loc’d my hair because 1. I think locs are a symbol of strength 2. I was over the medias ideas of beauty … and the nailer was 3. I hated taking care of my fro. My hair type is 4c, but thin and super soft. All products weighed it down but without product my hair broke off. Honestly, I just couldn’t get it right.

Dreads are a long term commitment. Do you regret your decision?

Every time I watched a different YouTuber they had a different method of retwisting and starting locs and I started to doubt myself. I was confused and at one point I wanted to comb out my locs and go back to my fro.

But there was also a part of me that didn’t want to give up. And I’m so happy I didn’t. I love my locs; they’re a perfect representation of my spirit and personality. โœจ

How often do you retwist?

Early on I retwisted my locs every two weeks to help shape them. Then I upgraded to retwisting once a month. And then finally I was able to goย three months without it.

Waiting longer is good for my hair type because my hair is thin and breaks easily from tension. So allowing my hair to breathe, stretch, shake, and grow is more beneficial in the long run.

What’s your daily regimen?ย 

Everyday I spray my locs with either water or rose water and Iย moisturize my new growthย with a lightย oil. Weekly I use the Wild Hair Growth oil on my scalp. It’s a nice, thick oil that stimulates the scalp and hydrates so well that I never have a dry scalp.

I try to keep it simple. I only use additional products when I retwist to limit build up.

What about washing your locs? Do you do it often?ย 

I shampoo my locs monthly, give or take a few weeeks. I absolutely love using Lush Cosmetics shampoo bars on my locs. Honestly, I used them on my loose hair too. These little shampoo bars are packed full of important oils and ingredients for your hair.

Each one is different and made for a specific purpose. I’m currently switching back and forth between New (which stimulates the scalp) and Jason and the Argan Oil (which softens and hydrates your hair). Each bar lasts for about 80 shampoos so they’re 1000000% worth it.

What are your loc goals?ย 

Over this past year, my locs have grown so much and I’ve learned a ton from the loc community. And now I’m more aware of the look I want to ultimately achieve. Iย envision myself with mid-backย length locs worn in infinite styles. ๐Ÿ‘ธ๐Ÿพ

And the journey continues.

IMG_3130

Leave a Reply

